The Group was originally established to make collective representations on behalf of smaller airports to the Davies Airport Commission.  The collaboration initially called itself UAG (UK Airports Group).  It renamed itself the Regional and Business Airports Group in 2014 to more accurately reflect its evolving membership and role, which grew to include the Crown Dependency airports and some business aviation airports, with little or no scheduled passenger traffic.

Since then the group has submitted several influential papers to the Airports Commission and takes some satisfaction that these helped to ensure that regional connectivity became a far more prominent component of the Commission’s work and one of the explicit evaluation criteria in their subsequent deliberations, which at the outset even they conceded it would not have been.

The group has developed a wider purpose and momentum and now has a membership of 40 airports – representing three quarters of all the airports in this category in the UK, and collectively carrying over 10mppa.

Aberdeen Airport 

Humberside Airport

Alderney Airport

Inverness Airport

Barra Airport

Islay Airport

Benbecula Airport

Isle of Man Airport

Blackpool Airport

Jersey Airport

Bournemouth Airport

Kirkwall Airport

Campbeltown Airport

Land’s End Airport

Cardiff Airport  

Lee-on-Solent Airport

Carlisle Airport

London Biggin Hill Airport

City of Derry Airport

London Oxford Airport

Cornwall Newquay Airport

London Southend Airport

Coventry Airport

Maes Awyr Môn / Anglesey Airport

Doncaster Sheffield Airport

Norwich Airport

Dundee Airport

Pembrey Airport

Durham Tees Valley Airport

Plymouth Airport

 Exeter Airport

Southampton Airport

George Best Belfast City Airport

Stornoway Airport

Glasgow Prestwick Airport

Sumburgh Airport

Gloucestershire Airport Staverton

Tiree Airport

Guernsey Airport

Wick John O’Groats Airport